Top 5 Wednesday-Books that aren’t set in/inspired by the Western World

TOP 5 WEDNESDAY IS A WEEKLY MEME HOSTED ON A GOODREADS GROUP. YOU CAN FIND THE LINK HERE IN CASE YOU WANT TO JOIN.

I was looking through all the books I’ve read and to my dismay, I barely have any books that fit the criteria for this one! It’s just not something I noticed before because I didn’t think it was so important but I’ve decided to broaden my horizons and read more diverse books from now on. 

1)Jasmine Skies by Sita Brahmachari

12980968

I read this book when I was 12 and loved it at that age! I learned so much about Indian culture and traditions and the story itself was so beautiful! It’s such a shame it’s very unpopular.

2)The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

27280362

This trilogy is based on Russian culture and settings. It’s not my favourite trilogy out but it was good.

3)The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

25203675

I recently read this book and found it to be good but not as awesome as the majority of the world thinks. You can read my review here for more on what I thought.

4)A Torch Against The Night by Sabaa Tahir

25558608

I read from Sabaa’s Tumblr that what inspired this book and all its violence is the Syrian refugees and camps. I’m not okay with people drawing their inspiration from people’s suffering at all! But it still fits in this list. You can find my review here.

5)The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan

18216364

These books are about Egyptian Mythology and only some of its settings are in the US so I’m counting them here. I really loved these books! Not as much as Heroes of Olympus and Percy Jackson but they’re still awesome!

img_4765

Happy Reading.

🤓Maya🤓

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday-Books that aren’t set in/inspired by the Western World

Leave a Reply

